Bad Girls Dont Die

Author: Katie Alender

Publisher: Disney Book Group (Hyperion), Although I couldn’t find it on their website, so there’s that. Amazon link is here.

Series: Bad Girls Don’t Die (#1)

Genre: YA Fantasy (Horror-Paranormal)

Rating:  3.5/5 

Recommendation: Ages 13+, Reading level 9/10th  grade, YA Fantasy Fans

From GoodReads:

When Alexis’s little sister Kasey becomes obsessed with an antique doll, Alexis thinks nothing of it. Kasey is a weird kid. Period. Alexis is considered weird, too, by the kids in her high school, by her parents, even by her own Goth friends. Things get weirder, though, when the old house they live in starts changing. Doors open and close by themselves; water boils on the unlit stove; and an unplugged air conditioner turns the house cold enough to see their breath in. Kasey is changing, too. Her blue eyes go green and she speaks in old-fashioned language, then forgets chunks of time.

Most disturbing of all is the dangerous new chip on Kasey’s shoulder. The formerly gentle, doll-loving child is gone, and the new Kasey is angry. Alexis is the only one who can stop her sister — but what if that green-eyed girl isn’t even Kasey anymore?

This book would probably be more of a solid 3 for me if Alender wasn’t so good at the creepy. So creepy. I wanted something with a creep factor with Halloween coming up, what this book didn’t deliver in other areas it definitely made up for in scares.

The Good:

  • Kasey- Seriously, I can’t stress enough how bad that kid creeped me out. The slow change in personality and is she crazy or is it paranormal was very well done. I loved that Alender didn’t just jump right into full on ‘Excorcist’ territory. The tension and fear built slowly, spine tingling, and bubbling right beneath the surface.
  • Megan- Alexis’ sort of nemesis, I don’t want to give too much away. While her plot line was a bit forced for me (specifically how she initially helps Alexis) I found myself wanting to know more about her. She was likable if not fully fleshed out, and the holes in her story will hopefully be filled in some more in the coming books.

The Less Good:

  • Alexis- While she was an overall likeable narrator I found myself frustrated over her characterization several times. She told us straight off that due to events in her past (which you find out about in the book, but I won’t spoil here) she has purposefully made herself an outcast by being deliberately confrontational to anyone who threatens her and speaking her mind without censoring her meaner thoughts. Yet she finds it impossible to call out one of the girls she hangs out with, who is over the top obnoxious and rude throughout the book.
  • The overall mystery, while creepy, was pretty predictable for me. I had it figured out early on and then was frustrated when it took so long for Alexis to connect the dots. Alender lays out the clues well, and they’re not terribly hard to follow.
  • Megan- again, I liked her but I also think she was a convenient plot device, so I’m torn there.

Overall: I liked it, it’s definitely worth a look for a fun, creepy read. I’m not rushing out for the sequel though.

If you liked Bad Girls Don’t Die or are a YA Horror fan I suggest:

The Devouring Series by Simon Holt

Leave a Reply

